Visa to attend the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 in Australia and New Zealand

  • Australia and New Zealand will co-host the ninth FIFA Women’s World Cup
  • Women’s World Cup is held from 20 July to 20 August 2023.
  • 32 nations will compete in the Women’s World Cup for the first time. Born as a 12-team tournament in 1991, it was expanded to include 16 countries at USA 1999 and 24 at Canada 2015.
  • Prior to arrival, please ensure that you meet all Visa and entry requirements to allow travel to Australia and New Zealand.
  • Fans may need to apply for and receive a visa for each country they want to visit, including any international transit visas that may be applicable.
  • Fans are encouraged to complete their respective visa applications as early as possible to ensure that they are processed prior to their intended travel dates.
  • The Australian and New Zealand Governments expect a higher-than-normal number of applications, as such processing times may take longer than usual.
  • Be aware that the process of applying for, approving and issuing entry visas is managed by the respective Australian or New Zealand government. FIFA is not responsible for this process or the approval of requested visas 

Australia FIFA 2023

If you’re planning a trip to Australia and New Zealand this year, it’s important to remember that you will need to organize your visa documents before you travel.

Do I need a visa before traveling to watch the Women’s World Cup in Australia?

The most popular visas used for tourist reasons are the Australian eVisitor visa (subclass 651), Australian Visitor Visa (subclass 600) and the Australian ETA visa.

Australian eVisitor Visa (Subclass 651)

The SC651 visa lets you visit Australia as a tourist. You must have an eligible passport. See more here.

Australia ETA Visa (Subclass 601)

Visit Australia as often as you wish in a 12-month period on a SC601 visa and stay up to 3 months each time you enter Australia. You must have an eligible passport. See more here.

Australia Visitor Visa (Subclass 600)

A Subclass 600 visa (in the Tourist stream or Business Visitor stream) may be appropriate for an athlete, coach, judge or support sports person who is not receiving remuneration or a performance payment to attend a sporting event or tournament and is intending a short stay of less than 3 months in Australia.

A Subclass 600 visa (either in the Tourist stream or Business Visitor stream) is appropriate for amateur sports people, spectators and family travelling to Australia for sporting activities or major events. Athletes, coaches, judges, support people and officials are considered to be amateur if they:

  • are competing, training or participating without remuneration (or not receiving prize money that is equivalent to remuneration); and/or
  • derive their primary income from other paid work.

The Working Holiday visa (subclass 417) or Work and Holiday (subclass 462) also lets people 18 to 30 years old (or 35 years old for some countries) have their first extended holiday in Australia.

If you are taking part in the FIFA 2023:

For professional athletes, coaches, judges, support people and officials competing at the Australian national level of their sport, or in a major event or tournament, a Subclass 408 visa (on the basis of being an Invited participant in an event) or Subclass 400 (Temporary Work) visa are the appropriate visa options.

You may have to apply for the Temporary Activity visa (subclass 408), this temporary visa lets you come to Australia to participate in events which are endorsed by the Australian Government such as the FIFA 2023 woman world cup.

With the SC408 visa you can

  • travel to or stay in Australia to take part in the Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) Women’s World Cup 2023 event
  • travel to and from Australia as many times as you want while the visa is valid.

If you want to take part in the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 event holding another Australian visa, check that the visa lets you do what you want to do. For example, that the visa lets you travel to and from Australia and gives you the right to work in Australia.

New Zealand FIFA 2023

Visitor Visa New Zealand

This NZ visitor visa lets you come to New Zealand as a visitor. You can attend and watch the Women’s FIFA World Cup 2023 with this visa. FIFA Women’s World Cup – spectators encouraged to apply for a Visitor Visa by the end of April.

INZ encourages spectators travelling to New Zealand in July and August 2023 for the FIFA Women’s World Cup to apply for a Visitor Visa by the end of April.

Are you a football supporter thinking about coming to New Zealand to watch the FIFA Women’s World Cup in July?

It is important spectators wanting to travel to New Zealand for the FIFA Women’s World Cup in July 2023 apply for a visitor visa early.

We encourage you to apply by the end of April to ensure your Visitor Visa is processed before travelling here.

If you intend to travel in and out of New Zealand, to watch games in Australia for example, you must indicate you want a multiple entry visa when you apply for your New Zealand visitor visa. This is important as it will be included in the information on your visa.

The fastest and easiest way to apply for a visitor visa is online. You can find out more about visitor visas and how to apply here on our website.

Sports Events Visitor Visa

The Sports Events Visitor visa allows you to visit New Zealand for a sports event or tour if you are a sports person, a support staff member, a match or tournament official, or a media/broadcasting worker. If you are from a visa waiver country and you meet all the criteria for this visa, you do not need a visa before you travel to New Zealand but you must hold an NZeTA (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority).

Women’s World Cup venues

  • Brisbane Stadium – Brisbane / Meaanjin, Australia
  • Dunedin Stadium – Dunedin / Ōtepoti, New Zealand
  • Eden Park – Auckland / Tāmaki Makaurau, New Zealand
  • Hindmarsh Stadium – Adelaide / Tarntanya, Australia
  • Melbourne Rectangular Stadium – Melbourne / Naarm, Australia
  • Perth Rectangular Stadium – Perth / Boorloo, Australia
  • Stadium Australia – Sydney / Gadigal, Australia
  • Sydney Football Stadium – Sydney / Gadigal, Australia
  • Waikato Stadium – Hamilton / Kirikiriroa, New Zealand
  • Wellington Regional Stadium – Wellington / Te Whanganui-a-Tara, New Zealand

Recent News

35 Years or Under Age Limit for 485 Visa

Core Skills Occupations List (CSOL)

Bridging Visa R

Genuine Student (GS)

Mobility Arrangement for Talented Early-professionals Scheme (MATES)